Call For a Free Consultation




Vehicular Manslaughter – Involuntary Manslaughter Resulting from a DWI

 If you have been charged with manslaughter resulting from a DWI accident, it is important to hire an experienced DWI attorney to handle the case from the start. The penalties in Missouri for a Vehicular Manslaughter conviction are extremely serious and can include a prison sentence of up to 15 years.


Additionally, if convicted of Vehicular Manslaughter your license will be revoked for a period of five years.   Missouri has identified some facts that are considered aggravating circumstances in a Vehicular Manslaughter case. If any of the following facts are proven then the punishment is enhanced even more:

  • The driver’s blood alcohol content was above a 0.18% at the time of the incident.
  • Two or more people were killed in the incident.
  • The deceased victim was in another vehicle at the time of the incident.

What Should I Do If I Have Been Charged With Vehicular Manslaughter?  

The sooner you speak with an attorney experienced in DWI defense the better. If you are able to contact an attorney in the minutes after an incident then that attorney will be able to give you advice that will help guide you through the investigation process in the most beneficial way.


If you are not able to speak to an attorney then please keep these things in mind:  

1) Do not make any statements to the police. When the police say anything you say can and will be used against you in court, they mean it. Politely decline to answer the questions and ask to speak with an attorney.  


2) Do not perform Field Sobriety Tests. At this point there has been an incident where someone is either seriously injured or dead so the police are most likely going to arrest you regardless of how well you perform the Field Sobriety Tests. Just like with the police questions, politely decline to perform the Field Sobriety Tests.  


3) Do not submit to a breath, blood, or urine test. Given the circumstances the police will most likely obtain a search warrant to draw your blood, but make them go through that full process.  


4) Do not give in to police bullying. The police may be very forceful when trying to get you to answer their questions or when trying to get a breath or blood sample. They are trying to do what is best for them and worst for you. If you are brave and do not give the police additional evidence against yourself then you will be in a much better position once the case makes it to court.


Contact The Law Office of Jason A. Korner For more information regarding the defense of Involuntary Manslaughter resulting from a DWI in Missouri, contact The Law Office of Jason A. Korner to schedule an appointment for a free initial consultation. Jason Korner is available to his clients 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Call the office in Clayton at 314-409-2659