Facebook

Twitter

8:30am - 5:00pm

Our Opening Hours Mon. - Sat.

314.409.2659

Call For a Free Consultation

Facebook

Twitter

Search
Menu
 

DWI Defense Lawyer in St. Louis

Do you need a DWI defense lawyer?
  • A man that is about to be arrested for a DWI

Have You Been Charged With a DWI in Missouri?

If you’re facing criminal DWI charges, then you need to speak to a qualified DWI defense attorney immediately. This crime can lead to jail time and or possible fines, even if you are a first time offender. Feel free to call my office at 314-409-2659 if you need immediate assistance.

DWI's are considered a serious crime in the state of Missouri and you should never go to court without an attorney to represent you.

Possible Missouri DWI Penalties

Getting caught while driving while intoxicated in Missouri can carry varying criminal penalties based on the BAC level and if you have had any prior DWI convictions. Your first DWI offense will result in a Class B misdemeanor.

However, you could still receive up to six months in jail, even if it is your first offense. The courts can also request you pay a fine that ranges from $500 to $2000.

If you want more information on Missouri DWI penalties, then please read our article on Second Offense DWI.

$ 15000

Average Cost of a DWI

Did you know that 200 people die each year in the state of Missouri because they drove drunk?

Frequently Asked DWI Questions

Do I Need a Lawyer For a DWI?

Yes, always. Various groups have raised the profile of DWI cases, sometimes resulting in injustice to innocent people. Unfortunately, many people are believed to be guilty before they are ever allowed to challenge their case at all; and without an attorney, it will stay that way.

Will a DWI Go On My Record?

A conviction for DWI can be put on your record, even if you're a first-time offender.

Can a DWI Be Expunged in The State of Missouri?

Fortunately, yes. However, a DWI can only be expunged in the state of Missouri if certain conditions are met. Click here to learn more about DWI expungement.

What is the Difference Between a DUI and a DWI

There is no difference between a DWI and a DUI. Drunk driving prosecutions have different names and acronyms in different states because of the terminology used in the statutes in those states. For example, in Illinois it is Driving Under the Influence (DUI), in Ohio it is Operating a Vehicle While Intoxicated (OVI), and here in Missouri it is Driving While Intoxicated (DWI).

Can a Person Be Charged With a DWI if They Haven't Been Drinking?

Yes, a person can face a DWI charge when they have no had anything to drink if a police officer suspects the person to be under the influence of drugs. In Missouri, a person can be found guilty of a DWI if he is driving under the influence of drugs, alcohol, or a combination thereof. Recently, there has been a surge of DWI prosecutions involving either drugs or a combination of drugs and alcohol.

Did you know that getting a DWI conviction in Missouri can also result in you losing your license for a period of time?

Other Helpful DWI Information

Do you need legal representation for your DWI case?